Media Center Extender...

• Level   2

In a way, I agree, HDMI pass through is lacking.  But, Microsoft is moving away from Media Center.  It's no longer included with Windows, it's an add-on that you need to pay for.  I work in the Cable industry and I can see the changes happening.   The days of video delivered over coax is numbered -- the future is in IP video.  While I would have loved for the Xbox one to have a cable card installed, along with a COAX in, I believe that the platform is set for the eventual transition to IP Video.  As long as the platform has internet connectivity, software updates will allow the platform to take the place of the traditional cable box in the future.

-

Microsoft does not need to compete against the likes of Comcast, Time Warner, or Cable Vision.  Nor do they need to compete against Arris or Scientific Atlanta.  They could build a platform that enhances cable.  In fact, they already are with their partnership with Comcast and Time Warner cable.  I'd love to send my DVR back and use an Xbox that can game, watch and record tv, and provide an assume guide.

• Level   2

Lestat, that all depends on the franchise agreement.  In most of the areas in PA, you can get Blast (50 meg) without video for about $70.  But there are some franchise agreements that require the MSO to provide basic video at a set amount.  And yes, Comcast can separate out the lines of business.  Most systems are now not only fully digital (requiring at least a cable card), they are also encrypted meaning you have to have a box, dta, or cable card with an active subscription to a video service.  Even prior to the digital conversion and encryption, the cable  company could install a filter that blocks out the video and only allow data to pass through the line since internet and phone run on specific channels or quams.

• Level   1