This question is answered

I forgot my email password

• Level   2

I made this account so I could ask this question. Years ago I made an xboxlive account with an email I no longer use. I have it set up so it automatically signs in each time  so I  have never worried about it. Last night I tried to change some settings via xbox360 and it was asking me to enter a password for my microsoft account. I do no longer know the password or security question for the account.

I have my xbox live subscription set up to automatically renew each year. This is a problem if I can not even acess the email or xbox360 account.

Making a new live account is not an option because I do not want to lose my name and gamer score.

Thanks

Verified Answer
    • Level   2
    • Verified Answer
    • Verified by

Hello,

If you can't access the e-mail which is preventing you from resetting the password then you need to try your luck with filling out the Microsoft Account Recovery form here.

That would actually be your one and only way to get out of the situation you are currently in unless you are able to get into the e-mail that the account is associated with. For that you'd need to talk to the e-mail provider if it was different than @Hotmail/@Live account. 

All Replies
    • Level   2
    • Verified Answer
    • Verified by

Hello,

If you can't access the e-mail which is preventing you from resetting the password then you need to try your luck with filling out the Microsoft Account Recovery form here.

That would actually be your one and only way to get out of the situation you are currently in unless you are able to get into the e-mail that the account is associated with. For that you'd need to talk to the e-mail provider if it was different than @Hotmail/@Live account. 

• Level   2
    • Suggested Answer

Try this solution here - support.xbox.com/.../error-email-password-not-valid

From this solution you can try the following - account.live.com/ResetPassword.aspx