This question is answered

Xbox 360 Slim - HDMI Setup

• Level   1

First of all, I'd like to say apologies if this thread/post has been made elsewhere. After a year and a half of PlayStation 3, I decided to switch consoles, and am glad I did. Thus im quite new to the XBOX Forums, and have had trouble finding my way around.

So I bought an XBOX 360 Slim a couple weeks back, looking forward to playing in HDMI as my PlayStation didn’t support it for some reason, and I noticed straight away that the AV/Scart/Component cable (whatever you personally call them) had a small piece of plastic blocking the HDMI port. Unlike most people, I don't know what I do next.

Can I setup the XBOX to just use the HDMI cable, by simply switching cables halfway through the process? If so, how?

Do I have to buy a new cable that allows me to plug both in at the same time? (Also, do you NEED to plug both in at the same time, to achieve HDMI quality?)

Is it possible to sand or cut the plastic on the cable, without risking serious permanent damage to the cable or XBOX? And would tinkering with the cable affect the 1 year warranty, if so I won’t think twice about it.

That's about it really, if anybody could provide some clear, helpful advice on any or all of these questions, it would be highly appreciated!

Lewstar MK. :)

Verified Answer
    • Level   1
    • Verified Answer
    • Verified by