This question is answered

Adding memory to Xbox 360 S

• Level   1

Okay. I am a noob 360 owner that just purchased the 4GB 360 S, and wanted to know what options I have when it comes to adding memory via external harddrive or USB stick.

There is a lot of discrepant information that I've read about this on many sites, so I just want the simplest answer in layman's terms.

What external harddrives, and which capacities, are compatible with the 360 S? Are there specific companies that I have to buy from? Same question goes for a USB drive.

Also, am I able to perform game saves on either of the harddrive or USB stick? finally, once I do purchase either, how do I go about "installing" it once connected to the 360?

Any information is greatly appreciated. I don't need a ton of rhetoric. All I want to know is what I need to have to use my 360 with additional memory. Straight and simple. Thanks

Verified Answer
    • Level   5
    • Verified Answer
    • Verified by

yes, you can use an external hard drive as long as it can be hooked up to the USB port and be used for game saves, but the system will only recognize up to 16 gig so does not matter if you have a 20 gig, 200 gig, or a 2000 (2 Terabyte) gig drive the system will ONLY use 16 gig of it.  yes you can use USB thumb drives between 1 gig but no more than 16 (anything bigger than 16 gig will only use up to 16 gig).  could have sworn I said this earlier but ya never know.  as for compatibility I am not sure the cheap brands may not work I used a 4 gig flash drive from gigaware (radio shack brand) and it worked great on my 360 when I took my profile and saves to my brothers place in L.A. instead of hauling my 360 with me.

XBOX 360, kicking other consoles backsides since 2005.

• Level   5
    • Verified Answer
    • Verified by